ETAPS 2022: 2-7 April 2022, Munich, Germany

ESOP 2022

31st European Symposium on Programming

Accepted papers

ESOP’22 Distinguished Artifact Awards:

Eleni Bila, Brijesh Dongol (University of Surrey), Ori Lahav (Tel Aviv University), Azalea Raad, John Wickerson (Imperial College London). View-Based Owicki-Gries Reasoning for Persistent x86-TSO

Jorge Sousa Pinto (HASLab/INESC TEC & Universidade do Minho, Portugal), Cláudio Belo Lourenço (Huawei Technologies Research & Development (UK) Ltd). Why3-do: The Way of Harmonious Distributed System Proofs

Daniel Lundén (KTH Royal Institute of Technology), Joey Öhman (AI Sweden), Jan Kudlicka (BI Norwegian Business School), Viktor Senderov, Fredrik Ronquist (Swedish Museum of Natural History), David Broman (KTH Royal Institute of Technology). Compiling Universal Probabilistic Programming Languages with Efficient Parallel Sequential Monte Carlo Inference

ESOP’22 Distinguished Reviewer Awards:

Bernardo Toninho (
Ivan Lanese (

General information

ESOP is an annual conference devoted to fundamental issues in the specification, design, analysis, and implementation of programming languages and systems. ESOP seeks contributions on all aspects of programming language research including, but not limited to, the following areas:

  • programming paradigms and styles: functional programming; object-oriented programming; probabilistic programming; logic programming; constraint programming; extensible programming languages; programming languages for systems code; novel programming paradigms;
  • methods and tools to specify and reason about programs and languages: programming techniques; meta-programming; domain-specific languages; proof assistants; type systems; dependent types; program logics, static and dynamic program analysis; language-based security; model checking; testing;
  • programming language foundations: formal semantics; type theory; logical foundations; category theory; automata; effects; monads and comonads; recursion and corecursion; continuations and effect handlers; program verification; memory models; abstract interpretation;
  • methods and tools for implementation: compilers; program transformations; rewriting systems; partial evaluation; virtual machines; refactoring; intermediate languages; run-time environments; garbage collection and memory management; tracing; profiling; build systems; program synthesis;
  • concurrency and distribution: process algebras; concurrency theory; session types; parallel programming; service-oriented computing; distributed and mobile computing; actor-based languages; verification and testing of concurrent and distributed systems;
  • applications and emerging topics: programming languages and PL methods in education, security, privacy, database systems, computational biology, signal processing, graphics, human-computer interaction, computer-aided design, artificial intelligence and machine learning; case studies in program analysis and verification.

Contributions bridging the gap between theory and practice are particularly welcome.

Important dates, paper submission and review

See the ETAPS 2022 joint call for papers.

Submit your paper via the author interface of HotCRP ESOP 2022 installation.

The review process of ESOP 2022 is double-blind (new in 2022!), with a rebuttal phase. In your submission, omit your names and institutions; refer to your prior work in the third person, just as you refer to prior work by others; do not include acknowledgements that might identify you.

ESOP 2022 has just one paper category: regular research papers of max 25 pp llncs.cls (excluding bibliography).

Additional material intended for reviewers but not for publication in the final version - for example, details of proofs - may be placed in a clearly marked appendix that is not included in the page limit. Reviewers are at liberty to ignore appendices and papers must be understandable without them.

Artifact submission and evaluation

ESOP 2022 will have post-paper-acceptance voluntary artifact evaluation (new in 2022!). Authors will be welcome to submit artifacts for evaluation after paper notification. The outcome will not alter the paper acceptance decision.

Here are the details of ESOP 2022 Artifact Evaluation.

Special issue


Programme chair

Ilya Sergey (Yale-NUS College and National University of Singapore, Singapore)

Programme committee

Michael D. Adams (Yale-NUS College, Singapore)
Danel Ahman (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia)
Aws Albarghouthi (University of Wisconsin-Madison. USA)
Zena M. Ariola (University of Oregon, USA)

Ahmed Bouajjani (IRIF, Université de Paris, France)

Giuseppe Castagna (IRIF, CNRS, France)
Cristina David (University of Bristol, UK)
Mariangiola Dezani-Ciancaglini (Università di Torino, Italy)
Rayna Dimitrova (CISPA, Germany)
Jana Dunfield (Quuen's University, Canada)

Aquinas Hobor (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
Guilhem Jaber (LS2N, Université de Nantes, France)
Jeehoon Kang (KAIST, South Korea)
Ekaterina Komendantskaya (Heriot-Watt University, UK)
Burcu Kulahcioglu Ozkan (Technische Universiteit Delft, The Netherlands)

Ori Lahav (Tel Aviv University, Israel)
Ivan Lanese (Università di Bologna / INRIA, Italy)
Dan Licata (Wesleyan University, USA)
Sam Lindley (University of Edinburgh, UK)
Andreas Lochbihler (Digital Asset, Switzerland)

Cristina Videira Lopes (University of California at Irvine, USA)
Stefan Marr (University of Kent, UK)
James Noble (Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand)
Vincent Rahli (University of Birmingham, UK)
Robert Rand (University of Chicago, USA)

Alejandro Russo (Chalmers University, Sweden)
Madhusudan Parthasarathy (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
Andreas Pavlogiannis (Aarhus Universitet, Denmark)
Christine Rizkallah (University of New South Wales, Australia)
Gagandeep Singh (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)

Gordon Stewart (Bedrock Systems, USA)
Joseph Tassarotti (Boston College, USA)
Bernardo Toninho (Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal)

Artifact evaluation committee chairs

Andreea Costea (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
KC Sivaramakrishnan (IIT Madras, India)

Steering committee chair

Peter Thiemann (Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, Germany)

Steering committee

Amal Ahmed (Northeastern University, USA)
Luis Caires (Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal)
Peter Müller (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
Brigitte Pientka (McGill University, Canada)
Nobuko Yoshida (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)