International Conference on Foundations of Software Science and Computation Structures

FoSSaCS International Conference on Foundations of Software Science and Computation Structures

Since its inception in 1998, FoSSaCS has been one of the main conferences composing the ETAPS confederation.

General Information

FoSSaCS seeks original papers on foundational research with a clear significance for software science. The conference invites submissions on theories and methods to support the analysis, integration, synthesis, transformation, and verification of programs and software systems.


FoSSaCS was created in 1998 as a continuation, with an enlarged scope, of the CAAP Conference. CAAP stood for Colloque sur les Arbres en Algèbre et Programmation and the conference had been running under this name between 1976 and 1980, before it was renamed as Colloquium on Trees in Algebra and Programming starting form 1981. The 22nd and last edition of CAAP was held in 1997 in Lille.

25 Anniversary Celebration

In 2022, FoSSaCS celebrated its 25 anniversary. Watch the talk of Barbara König and Ugo dal Lago about the conference history!

Scope of Interest

The scope of FoSSaCS is broad. The specific topics covered by the conference include, but are not limited to, the following list.

  • Categorical models and logics.
  • Language theory, automata, and games.
  • Modal, spatial, and temporal logics.
  • Type theory and proof theory.
  • Concurrency theory and process calculi.
  • Rewriting theory.
  • Semantics of programming languages.
  • Program analysis, correctness, transformation, and verification.
  • Logics of programming.
  • Software specification and refinement.
  • Models of concurrent, reactive, stochastic, distributed, hybrid, and mobile systems. Emerging models of computation.
  • Logical aspects of computational complexity.
  • Models of software security.
  • Logical foundations of data-bases.

Steering Committee

  • Patricia Bouyer-Decitre (Paris-Saclay, FR)
  • Javier Esparza (Munich, DE)
  • Naoki Kobayashi (Tokyo, JP)
  • Barbara König (Duisburg-Essen, DE)
  • Orna Kupferman (Jerusalem, IL)
  • Andrzej Murawski (Oxford, UK; chair)
  • Frank Pfenning (Pittsburgh, US)
  • Alex Simpson (Ljubljana, SI)