ETAPS 2016: 2-8 April 2016, Eindhoven, The Netherlands

FASE 2016

19th International Conference on Fundamental Approaches to Software Engineering (FASE)

FASE is concerned with the foundations on which software engineering is built. Submissions should make novel contributions to making software engineering a more mature and soundly-based discipline. Contributions should be supported by appropriate arguments and validation. Contributions that combine the development of conceptual and methodological advances with their formal foundations and tool support are particularly encouraged. We welcome contributions on all such fundamental approaches, including:

  • Software engineering as an engineering discipline, including its interaction with and impact on society;
  • Requirements engineering: capture, consistency, and change management of software requirements;
  • Software architectures: description and analysis of the architecture of individual systems or classes of applications;
  • Specification, design, and implementation of particular classes of systems: adaptive, collaborative, embedded, distributed, mobile, pervasive, or service-oriented applications;
  • Software quality: validation and verification of software using theorem proving, model checking, testing, analysis, refinement methods, metrics or visualisation techniques;
  • Model-driven development and model transformation: meta-modelling, design and semantics of domain-specific languages, consistency and transformation of models, generative architectures;
  • Software processes: support for iterative, agile, and open source development;
  • Software evolution: refactoring, reverse and re-engineering, configuration management and architectural change, or aspect-orientation.

Important dates and submission

See the ETAPS 2016 joint call for papers. Submit your paper via the FASE 2016 author interface of EasyChair.

FASE accepts research papers (max 15 pp, excl bibliography of max 2 pp), tool papers (max 15 pp, excl bibliography of max 2 pp) and tool demo papers (4+6 pp).

FASE 2016 will try a light-weight double-blind review process. Therefore, in your submission, omit your names and institutions; refer to your prior work in the third person, just as you refer to prior work by others; do not include acknowledgements that might identify you. If in doubt, please contact the chairs. Blinding a submission should not be onerous. We are trying to guard against implicit bias, not to make it impossible for anyone to guess authorship.

FASE 2016 will not have a rebuttal phase.

Special issue

A special issue of the Springer journal Formal Aspects of Computing (FAC) will be associated with FASE'16. Authors of the best papers that fall within FAC's scope will be invited to submit significantly extended papers for journal review.

Invited speaker

Oscar Nierstrasz (Universität Bern, Switzerland)

Programme chairs

Perdita Stevens (University of Edinburgh, UK)
Andrzej Wasowski (IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark)

Programme committee

Sagar Chaki (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Nancy Day (University of Waterloo, Canada)
Ewen Denney (NASA Ames, USA)
Juergen Dingel (Queen's University, Canada)
Stéphane Ducasse (INRIA Lille - Nord Europe, France)

Alexander Egyed (Johannes Kepler Universität Linz, Austria)
Bernd Fischer (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
Milos Gligoric (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
Stefania Gnesi (ISTI-CNR, Italy)
Marieke Huisman (Universiteit Twente, The Netherlands)

Valérie Issarny (INRIA Paris - Rocquencourt, France)
Marta Kwiatkowska (University of Oxford, UK)
Barbara König (Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany)
Martin Leucker (Universität Lübeck, Germany)
Axel Legay (INRIA Rennes, France)

Fabrizio Pastore (Université de Luxembourg, Luxembourg)
Julia Rubin (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
Bernhard Rumpe (RWTH Aachen, Germany)
Ina Schaefer (Technische Universität Braunschweig, Germany)
Mariëlle Stoelinga (Universiteit Twente, Netherlands)

Gabriele Taentzer (Philipps-Universität Marburg, Germany)
Mohammad Torabi Dashti (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
Martin Wirsing (Ludwig-Maximiilians-Universität München, Germany)
Yingfei Xiong (Peking University, China)